Disfellowshipping – A Sibling’s Viewpoint

Jehovah’s view on this matter is vital. But perhaps it also helps to understand a son, brother and friend relate his feelings on the matter.

There is no doubt that Jehovah God’s standards of right and wrong are high. Jehovah is picky about who he calls friend. And he rightly does this!

In striving to serve Jehovah, the True and Living God, we may fall short, even to the point of needing very strong correction! This can happen to you, to me, to anyone of us if we become spiritually drowsy.

So, I’m not being “righteous overmuch” as the Scripture says. This applies to me just as well.

At the time of this writing I have separated from me a brother and a sister. They are disfellowshipped from the Christian Congregation of Jehovah’s Witnesses.

This is not the first time I’ve been exposed to having to withhold fellowship. It has happened before. In that case all of the family members obeyed Jehovah to the letter. We didn’t have any contact beyond the strictest necessity. The family member came back to Jehovah.

What would have happened if there was a permissive atmosphere? What if one or two family members or Witnesses who were friends remained in contact? I might not have that member back today!

Now, in 2011, we’ve got facebook and email and every other way to connect with people. It is much easier to disobey Jehovah and be permissive. To let down our standard and slip into saying a greeting again explicit Scriptural direction.

This subject is important to me because I am missing a brother and a sister from my side. They have the right to make their own choices. But my choice is to obey Jehovah.

Yes, I want to talk to them. Yes, I want to serve with them again. I want to hear their voices and see their faces.

But there is only one way to get there for me. That is by setting the very best example in sticking to Jehovah’s law as possible! Even in the disfellowshipping arrangement.

Painful? Yes!

Necessary? YES!

Disfellowshipping is not the problem. The bone was broken with the fall. Disfellowshipping is the arduous recovery! Disfellowshipping is the painful setting of the bone and the rehabilitation. It is the itching in the cast. It is the difficult physical therapy sessions.

Don’t let the world dictate to you what you will think and believe and do about disfellowshipping. It is not harsh. It is loving.

I’ll put you on notice. If you are one of Jehovah’s Witnesses and you are on social media with a disfellowshipped individual you are not being loving. You are in fact hating them as much as the Bible says sparing a rod of discipline is hating those needing it.

You aren’t doing any favors for my missing brother and sister. And you aren’t pleasing me or Jehovah. I’m sure Jehovah is seeking to gently adjust you but I’m not as full of heart.

You are keeping the rod from those I love if you do this and it makes me angry. They may not choose to come back. Ever. But to the extent we can help their decision making ought we to do so?

Please make this a personal or a Family Worship project.

Leave a Reply

